Easter Break Review // 2 Weeks // 10-23rd April

10th-23rd April / Easter Break

After Week 6 and the concluding evaluation we participated in, the easter break begun. 2 Weeks working outside the studio was a daunting problem as i like to be constantly producing sheets or small paintings and so forth, therefore i would have to make do with resources outside of UCA. This was something that i realised came under the research we did on problem solving, therefore i explored as many avenues with my book work in order to catch up and produce visual pages exploring my idea. I enjoyed not knowing specifically my task everyday as it allowed me to take risks and explore my idea further.

I began by sorting my images out into chosen folders in order to make progress within the book examples easier. It also allowed me to look at previous shoots and recognise where i need to improve. I also researched the area’s i had explored, for instance Margate and Canterbury, and the history behind the social estates and area’s. Each couple of days, i documented what i was doing, whether it be new ideas or influences in order to keep up with the demand of work i need. I realised that during the first week i did leave work and not finish it, therefore making me work harder in the second week to produce outcomes and evaluate. I used many different materials during the break such as image transfer, paint, charcoal, wood offcuts and so forth (documented in my Sketchbook).

I evaluated the areas i had visited, explaining my choices of local areas instead of further away (e.g London) aswell as concluding ideas and where my project has ended up. I decided to explore one more new area – Aylesham – in order to create a final piece that coherently fits in with the work i have been doing, aswell as injects new imagery into the project. Aylesham was built in the 1920’s to accommodate workers at nearby coal mines, and is an interesting and strangely utopian/eery area. Not short of countryside beauty or services, however it does seem to fit in with my idea of social housing and this utopian community idea so well. The area also has been identified by the Dover Local Plan as a location for expansion, continuing my interest in documenting area’s of development and change in architecture/landscape.

Leave a Reply

